Pickles !

Posted on Updated on

So today were going to make one of my favorite things to eat ever. Pickles!!!  When I say that pickles are my favorite thing ever I really mean it. My love of pickles knows no bounds, even going as far as costing me a job.  But that is another story for another time, or never. The great thing about this recipe is that you don’t need to can your pickles you just need to throw it into a jar.  The pickles that I am going to show you how to make today are exactly like the Klaussen pickles that you buy in the refrigerated section of the supermarket. The other pickles are the canned ones that you find in the non-refrigerated section.  The difference between these two is that the Klaussen pickles are more crisp and fresh than the canned pickles. This is because…. well… they ARE fresher. The Klaussen pickles perish much quicker and need to be refrigerated to remain their freshness and edibility since they are not caned. While they perish quicker the freshness and crispness really takes you sandwiches  to the next level.  This recipe is so easy that I am so surprised that many people don’t make their own pickles more often, not to mention that the amount of money you save from not buying them from the store is huge. Think about it. My ingredients probably cost me less than $3, and that’s still considering that the cucumbers I bought were $2.  If you grow your own then this will literally cost you 50 cents to make. When you check out how easy my steps below are you won’t ever buy your own pickles again.

Step 1.  Get all your ingredients together. You will need pickles, dill, salt, pepper corns, chopped garlic, vinegar and filtered water.

you need 6 medium sized pickles, 2 Tbsp Dill, 1 tbsp salt, 25 peppercorns, and 4 cloves chopped garlic.
you need 6 medium sized pickles, 2 Tbsp Dill, 1 tbsp salt, 25 peppercorns, and 4 cloves chopped garlic.

Step 2. Cut your pickles into the desired shape that you want for you pickles. Since I like to put my pickles on sandwiches I’ve chosen thin slices.

cut your pickles into the desired shape
cut your pickles into the desired shape

Step 3. Find a jar or tupperware container. Whatever you choose your jar make sure it has a lid that can seal it tightly.

Step 4. Throw all your ingredients, except the water, into the jar.  DSCN2930

Step 5. Fill the jar to the top with your filtered water. Cover with the lid.  DSCN2941

Step 6. Shake your jar up and let it sit on your counter for 12 hours. After 12 hours turn it upside down and let it sit for another 12 hours before putting it in the refrigerator. DSCN2940

You have a month to eat them before they go bad, but if you love pickles like I do they will be gone long before that!

Also if you want to can these pickles to last longer through the winter you can check out this caning blog!

470 words

DSCN2943

3 thoughts on “Pickles !

    Thom Lieb said:
    November 11, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    I don’t see the required link in this one.

      rachelallen252 responded:
      November 15, 2013 at 11:50 pm

      it might have gotten taken out when I copied and pasted. I can add it now.

    […] Pickles ! (thebasicsofliving.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment